Duration: 3:58 min

How to activate the Chakras


Today this is common scientific knowledge that the whole existence is a reverberation of energy. So the source of all that’s physical in the existence today, as for modern science, is a reverbration or a vibration. Among the vibrations that happen in the existence, not all of it is right now available to the human ear. What we refer to as music is a more refined arrangement of the sounds that the creation is already making. The Indian classical music particularly comes from a very deep understanding of the human system. Every human experience happens only within ourselves, never outside of ourselves. Because we are the basis of our experience. Everything that we do is based upon the nature of the self. Because of this, the music identified certain dimensions of the body which are responsive to the sounds that we generate, or the sounds that come towards us. The human system, being seen as five koshas or five sheets or layers of body. The Annamaya kosha, the Manomaya kosha, Pranamaya kosha, Vigyanamaya koshan, and Anandamaya kosha. Among these five, Pranamaya kosha is the most significant one. Pranamaya kosha is made up of 72,000 nadis which meet and redistribute in 114 significant ways, or there are 114 junction boxes in the human system. Of these, two are outside, the physical nature and 112 are within. Out of these 112, four are dormant to a large extent. So 108 active energy centers in the body are chakras in the body. Based on this, these 108 are divided on the right and the left in the form of Ida and Pingala. They’re divided as 54 each. Based on this we formed a sanskrit alphabet of 54 sounds. These 54 sounds in two manifestations are feminine and masculine. We have 108. These 108 sounds has a significance and the whole music system evolved out of these 108. So the Indian classical music, essentially, is about touching these 108 or activating these 108 chakras or points in the body which will lead to a natural evolution of the human being to a higher level of consciousness. So music has never been just a form of entertainment, it has been a way of evolving an individual human being into a universal entity. So this dimension of activating the human system, this dimension of allowing the human system to evolve to its ultimate possibility, by using these 108 sounds, is called as Nada Yoga. So the Indian classical music is an evolution of this fundamental process of Nada Yoga.

Yogic Physiology

More Short 3min Talks

Show All>