Duration: 3:52 min

You have 7 Bodies

Sadhguru elaborates on yogic physiology, and explains that a human being has 7 bodies. Sadhguru also explains, at what stage of life, each of these bodies develops.

So the body, or this what you call as yourself, evolves itself in many different stages. Looking at this evolution, in yoga we see this as seven different stages, or we say seven different bodies man has. Seven different bodies need not necessarily mean actually seven different bodies. These are seven different stages in which one grows. From zero to seven, up to seven years of age, only the physical body grows. This is ‘sthool shareer’ or the gross body. Seven to fourteen, another body, which is called as ‘bhava shareer’, the emotional development of the person happens. From 14 to 21, next seven years, the ‘manasik shareer’ or the mental body evolve. That is when the intellect develops. When intellect develops, his interest to learn all these things will come. But generally today modern society is limited only to these three states of the body. The physical body, the emotional body, and the mental body. After that we are not seeking any development. The next seven years are for ‘divya manas’. As you have a logical mind, there is another mind which is completely different. In yoga we avoid this fourth level of development, because once a person goes into this he becomes miraculous. Many many miracles start happening around him. What is there can be here, what is here can be there. You know what is happening there, this kind of things. In yoga we seal this route. We don’t allow people to go into ‘divya manas’, because it is still mind. It may be – divya means, it’s a grand mind you know, mind on a much grander scale than that we know as mind is. Once you enter this mind you know everything, you know. Not everything, but when compared to other people you look like a miracle. Once this happens people generally lose the next stage of development. Most people will not have the maturity to just push it aside and go ahead. They will always get entangled with this. This is still a psychic state. Now you can do telepathy, you can do telekinesis, all these things. These are ‘Divya manas’. From 21 to 28, this mind can be easily developed. This is a natural process. At that stage it is very easy to develop that kind of ability. But people who are on the spiritual path should never seek that. Because all that you will end up with is a higher level of the mind. As it is mind is deceptive, a higher mind is even more deceptive. It gets you entangled in a much deeper way than the lower mind. So we just keep that aside. Nobody will seek the absolute once they come to contact with ‘divya manas’, because it is so huge, so vast, so miraculous it feels like god. You don’t need anything more, that’s, that’s the kind of feeling that it creates. But it also brings immense suffering. As normally a person who goes into ‘divya mana’, after 47-48 years of life, tremendous amount of suffering is brought about. On the path of yoga we are trying to bypass a few things and go always to complete emptiness, total dissolution. Because till then the job is not done.

Wisdom For Seekers

More Short 3min Talks

Show All>